Wythenshawe Community Housing Group
Board Governance

A board of voluntary non-executive Directors direct strategy, make policies and take financial decisions. The Board sets the wider aims and objectives, and monitors performance against these whilst ensuring that our staff meet high standards of service.

WCHG Group Board and Committee Members are listed below:

WCHG Board Members

Bishop David Walker

Group Chair

The Bishop of Manchester, The Right Revd Dr David Walker joined the WCHG board in April 2014 and became chair two years later. He has been a Housing Association board member since 1988, and his passion for social housing, urban regeneration and the wellbeing of tenants has also included being a member of the National Housing Federation Board and as Chair of HACT. He currently chairs the Manchester Homelessness Partnership Board on behalf of the City Council and all partners. He enjoys the opportunity of serving the people of Wythenshawe through the vision of WCHG.

David has held the position of Bishop of Manchester since 2013 prior to which he was Bishop of Dudley from 2000. He chairs the Board of Governors of the Church Commissioners, responsible for an £8 Billion endowment fund, and is Vice Chair of the Church’s Ethical Investment Advisory Group. In September 2020 he is due to take a seat in the House of Lords, with a remit for Housing matters as part of his brief.

David Walker
Sarah Russell


Vice Chair & Chair of Group Renumeration & Governance Committee

Read more

Tahir Idris

Read more

Michelle Gregg

Read more
Nigel Sedman


Chair of Development Committee

Read more

David Nuttall

Read more

Sam Wilson

Vice Chair

Read more

Tony Bell

Chair of Group Audit & Risk Committee

Read more


Read more

Independent Committee Members

Clare Doyle

Development Committee Member

Read more

Joanne Peters

Audit & Risk Committee Member

Read more
Steve Aggett

Steve Aggett

Audit and Risk Committee Member

Read more